West Bengal govt introduces centralised portal for admission to undergraduate colleges

West Bengal Education Minister Bratya Basu.
West Bengal Education Minister Bratya Basu officially launched the admission portal on Wednesday.
West Bengal Education Minister Bratya Basu.
West Bengal Education Minister Bratya Basu officially launched the admission portal on Wednesday.

June 21, 2024, West Bengal: The West Bengal govt on Wednesday launched a centralised admission portal for admission to undergraduate courses in all state-run colleges. The admission portal was officially launched by West Bengal’s Education Minister Bratya Basu at Bikash Bhavan, Kolkata on June 19. 

The admission process is slated to begin on June 24, which would be conducted through a dedicated common website. While announcing the launch of the portal, Basu said that this step would ensure that no student with good marks can take admission in multiple colleges at once.  After retaining a student’s seat in the desired course and vacating the rest, this ends up in a lot of seats remaining empty every year. 

“A candidate who has been admitted will be allowed a higher level of preference if seats are available. However, the student will be allotted only one seat based on eligibility,” said the education minister. He also said that in the centralised process, one candidate will be offered only one seat at a time, depending on his results with the scope to get a better opportunity in case there is a vacancy elsewhere. 

“We are launching the portal to provide students with an opportunity to choose their desired courses in chosen colleges via a single window system,” said Basu. The West Bengal minister further stated that any student from across the country can apply for 25 undergraduate courses maximum through the website, provided he/she had passed the Class 12 final examination. The merit list will also be system-generated, institution-wise and course-wise. 

The portal is meant to facilitate admissions in 461 colleges across the state, affiliated to 16 universities, for 7,217 undergraduate courses. However, Presidency University, Jadavpur University and some autonomous and minority colleges have been exempted from the system. 

Related :  CUET UG 2024 Retest for 1,000 Students NTA Schedules on July 19, Results on July 22

The admissions window will have two phases, the latter of which will be called the mop-up round. Each phase will consist of two rounds. The second phase of the admission window is meant for those who were not allotted seats or cancelled their admission or did not enrol even after seat allotment due to preference change.

The admission window for Phase I will be open till July 7, 2024. For further information, click here – https://bsk.wb.gov.in/uploads/ed_bsk/faq_english.pdf 


More News:

Samiksha is a veteran journalist with over twenty years of experience, having worked with top outlets like Click News, and India TV. Currently at therisingnews.com, Samiksha excels in crafting detailed, accurate, and engaging Education news articles. His work is known for its clarity and accessibility, making complex topics understandable for all readers, including fifth graders. Samiksha commitment to ethical journalism and quality content often sees his articles achieving top story status on platforms like Google News.