IPL 2024 Updated Squad & Teams

IPL 2024 Updated Squad & Teams
IPL 2024 Updated Squad & Teams (image via Jagran Josh)

As the excitement for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 builds up, cricket fans are eagerly awaiting the clash of titans on the field. The tournament is set to commence with the defending champions, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), going head-to-head against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in a thrilling match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Ahead of the tournament’s start, teams have been busy finalizing their squads, including making necessary replacements for players sidelined due to injuries or other reasons. Here’s a comprehensive update on the squads of IPL teams for the 2024 season.

Squad Changes and Replacements

The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have made a notable change by replacing English pacer Mark Wood with Shamar Joseph for this season. Similarly, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have brought in Dushmantha Chameera to replace Gus Atkinson, who is unable to participate in the tournament. Additionally, after Jason Roy’s exit, KKR has also roped in Phil Salt as a replacement.

Team-by-Team Squad Updates

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

  • Key Players: MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar
  • New Additions: Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Mustafizur Rahman

Delhi Capitals (DC)

  • Key Players: Rishabh Pant, David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel
  • New Additions: Jake Fraser-McGurk (replacing Lungi Ngidi), Jhye Richardson, Shai Hope

Gujarat Titans (GT)

  • Key Players: David Miller, Shubman Gill, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami
  • New Additions: Kane Williamson, Josh Little, Umesh Yadav

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

  • Key Players: Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine
  • New Additions: Dushmantha Chameera, Phil Salt (replacing Jason Roy)

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

  • Key Players: KL Rahul, Quinton de Kock, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi
  • New Additions: Shamar Joseph (replacing Mark Wood), David Willey, Ashton Turner

Mumbai Indians (MI)

  • Key Players: Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan
  • New Additions: Jason Behrendorff, Mohammad Nabi, Shivalik Sharma

Punjab Kings (PBKS)

  • Key Players: Shikhar Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow
  • New Additions: Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Rilee Rossouw

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

  • Key Players: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult
  • New Additions: Donovan Ferreira, Adam Zampa, Rovman Powell

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

  • Key Players: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Faf du Plessis, Mohammed Siraj
  • New Additions: Reece Topley, Cameron Green, Lockie Ferguson

As teams gear up for the IPL 2024, these squad updates reflect the strategic changes and reinforcements made by franchises to strengthen their line-ups. With a mix of seasoned veterans and exciting new talents, the upcoming season promises to deliver cricketing action at its best.